South Dakota at ACE

The South Dakota Section had two members receive awards at ACE.

Janel Ellingson, Water Superintendent for the City of Aberdeen, received the George Warren Fuller award (which was presented to Janel last year at South Dakota’s Annual Conference in Spearfish). The George Warren Fuller award is one of AWWA’s highest honors recognizing distinguished service to the water supply field. The award was presented to Janel by AWWA President (now Past President) Gene Koontz, and AWWA CEO David LaFrance.

Jeff DeVille, Water Superintendent for the City of Watertown, received the Water for People Kenneth J. Miller Founders Award, which is the highest award offered by Water for People. This award celebrates the fundraising efforts of volunteers working to bring potable water and sanitation to impoverished populations throughout the world.

It was truly an honor to be in the audience for both of these award banquets, and witness both of these South Dakotan Section members receive these prestigious and well-deserved awards. If you see Jeff or Janel, be sure to congratulate them on their awards.

It is a tradition for ACE attendees from South Dakota to gather together one day for lunch. We had pretty good food at the ACE Exhibit Hall café, and even better company. Attending were Kristin Bisgard, and her daughter Ella, Delvin DeBoer, Jeff DeVille, Janel Ellingson, and me. After a nice lunch and pleasant conversation, we took the opportunity to get our photo taken with Eddy.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts